From 1 April 2023: new opening days and ticket rates Read more


Take-over Concertgebouw / Ensemble Polyharmonique

Benedicta es ...

1 October 2021
O.L.V.-kerk Museum

Polyphony for the Bruges Madonna / O.L.V.-kerk Museum

211001 Polyharmonique

The incredible dynamism of Michelangelo's masterful Madonna of Bruges sculpture arouses admiration and adoration. The Virgin Mary is looking down, pensively, withdrawn, while her Son seems eager to step away. Ensemble Polyharmonique focus on Mary, with Renaissance motets by Willaert and Josquin and with Arvo Pärt’s Magnificat. Three expressive settings of the text Infelix ego by controversial Dominican monk Savonarola provide a dark counterpart.

€ 28


Motets by Adrian Willaert (1490-1562),
Cipriano de Rore (ca.1515-1566),
Josquin des Prez (1450-1521),
Roland de Lassus (1532-1594)
& Arvo Pärt (1935)


Ensemble Polyharmonique:
Joowon Chung: soprano
Piotr Olech: countertenor
Alexander Schneider: countertenor & primus inter pares
Johannes Gaubitz & Sören Richter: tenor
Matthias Lutze: bass
Fabien Moulaert: trombone & organ
Michiel Soete: lighting design