On Thursday, 26 May (Ascension Day) our museums will be closed in the afternoon.

Close

Strook at Sint-Janshospitaal

Strook presents free-standing sculptures in the attic of the St. John’s Hospital, such as ‘One More Day IV’ and ‘One More Day V’. These are steel vitrines with matt glass, in which busts made of scrap wood seem to disappear. The case around the figure creates a distance between the sculpture and the viewer. It prevents any form of encounter. From a distance you can see the contours of the figures, but as you approach, they fade into unattainable beings. Like a mirage of memory.

In his work, Strook shows how transient everything is, especially when the weight of time begins to press downwards. Time is intangible; you cannot grasp it, only express it. Almost all his works are about transience, but also about memories that fade forever.

Strook himself is also deeply scarred. The titles of his works and exhibitions suggest a personal drama, which he incorporates into his sculptures, paintings and installations. His brother died in 2012. That loss permeates everything. His 2019 exhibition ‘One More Day’ revolved around his impossible longing to spend just one more day with his sibling.

Strook notices that his own memories or feelings, once concrete, are deteriorating. Time gnaws at them, just as it does the scrap wood. His memories become a mental construction; a monument erected in his head. In that sense, you can also see his work as cerebral architecture: a stack of disappearing recollections and thoughts. They are pieces of a distorted reality. Mental spaces and monuments for memories that are gradually slipping away.

The loss of his brother remains a watershed in Strook’s life and work. Since his death, he has realised how fragile humans are. Being fragile is not an admission of weakness, he says. It takes courage to dwell on the finite nature of life.

Strook’s work symbolises the relationship between people and their surroundings. How we, as nomads, occupy places and change things, before abandoning everything and allowing it to fall into ruin. That natural process of construction and destruction is inherent to his work. In essence, it is about the circularity of our existence. Because everything disappears in the end, including people and life itself.

Fermer

Strook aux Sint-Janshospitaal

Dans le grenier de l’hôpital Saint-Jean, Strook présente des sculptures disposées isolément, entre autres « One More Day IV » et « One More Day V ». Il s’agit de vitrines en acier fermées par un vitrage mat, dans lesquelles un buste en bois de récupération semble disparaître. L’enveloppe qui entoure la figure crée une distance entre la sculpture et le spectateur. Elle rend toute rencontre impossible. À distance, on voit les contours des figures, mais quand on s’approche, elles s’estompent pour devenir des créatures inaccessibles. Comme un mirage du souvenir.

Dans son œuvre, Strook montre combien tout est évanescent, surtout quand le poids du temps commence à agir. Le temps est intangible, on ne peut pas s’en emparer, on ne peut que l’exprimer. Presque toutes ses œuvres parlent de la fugacité des choses, mais aussi de souvenirs qui s’estompent irrémédiablement.

Strook porte lui-même quelques traces profondes qui l’ont marqué dans sa vie. Les titres de ses œuvres et de ses expos suggèrent un drame personnel, qu’il traite dans ses sculptures, ses tableaux et ses installations. Son frère est décédé en 2012. Cette perte transparaît partout dans son œuvre. Son expo « One More Day » de 2019 tournait autour du désir, impossible à satisfaire, de passer encore une journée, une seule, en compagnie de son frère.

Strook constate lui-même que les souvenirs concrets ou les sentiments s’effritent en lui. Le temps les ronge, tout comme il ronge le bois. Ses souvenirs deviennent une construction mentale, un monument qu’il a érigé dans sa tête. Dans ce sens, on peut aussi considérer son œuvre comme une architecture mentale : un amoncèlement de souvenirs et de pensées en train de disparaître. Ce sont des morceaux de réalité altérée. Des espaces mentaux et des monuments commémorant des souvenirs qui disparaissent peu à peu.

La perte de son frère reste un point de repère dans la vie et l’œuvre de Strook. Depuis la mort de son frère, il a pris conscience de la fragilité de l’être humain. Être fragile n’est pas un signe de faiblesse, dit-il. C’est au contraire faire preuve de courage que d’oser malgré tout s’attarder sur la finitude de la vie.

L’œuvre de Strook symbolise le rapport de l’être humain avec son environnement. La façon dont les nomades que nous sommes s’approprient des lieux, interviennent sur ceux-ci, puis abandonnent tout et laissent tout dépérir. Ce processus naturel de construction et de destruction est typique de son œuvre. Il s’agit au fond de la circularité de notre existence. Car tout finit par disparaître, même l’être humain et la vie.