On Thursday, 26 May (Ascension Day) our museums will be closed in the afternoon.

Close

Strook in Groeninge - Groene zaal

‘There is a crack in everything. That’s how the light gets in’, sang Leonard Cohen in ‘Anthem’, a song from the album The Future.

Cohen did not like to explain his lyrics. Yet he said in an interview: ‘there is a crack in everything that you can put together: Physical objects, mental objects, constructions of any kind. But that’s where the light gets in, and that’s where the resurrection is and that’s where the return, that’s where the repentance is. It is with the confrontation, with the brokenness of things.’

Cohen’s quote could also be Strook’s motto. This Belgian artist is mainly known for his portraits, which take the form of wall reliefs in reclaimed wood. He finds his materials in so-called ‘non-places’: building sites, abandoned squats or other desolate areas. The wood that he collects has often had a long prior life. And that leaves its mark.

It is precisely those cracks, those fissures, that Strook is seeking. The weather-beaten colours and the splits in the material are vitally important to him. They tell the layered story of construction and destruction, of past and future, light and dark.

Strook is not a destroyer. He builds with time. And the cracks in his work define time, which is intangible and passes irrevocably. The fissures show how the layers of paint affect the wood. Time is a sculptor whose tools are weather and wind. The craquelure is significant in Strook’s work. It reveals the brokenness of which Cohen speaks. Strook does not manipulate the cracks but treats them as ready-mades.

Strook creates expressive compositions with his found wood. Mostly human figures with an abstract quality. Emotion is not only suggested by the postures, but also by the breaks in the wood. These lend the sculptures a picturesque skin and an emotional charge.

The patina of the material is the aesthetic imprint of time, Strook says. But it is also a mark of transience: a metaphor for how everything gradually changes, withers away or disappears. Both physically and mentally. Time is irrevocable. He draws people, but also materials and objects.

Strook feels that the German art critic Jocks describes it best: ‘Nothing stops time. Like a wave, it sweeps away everything it encounters, leaving only its imprint. Time brings things to life and lets them decay. It leaves its mark on everything. Time is not only a sculptor, but also a draughtsman.’

Fermer

Strook in Groeninge - Groene zaal

« There is a crack in everything. That’s how the light gets in. » Ce texte de Leonard Cohen est extrait de sa chanson « Anthem », dans l’album The Future.

Cohen n’aimait pas expliquer ses textes. Mais dans une interview, il a dit ceci : « Il y a une fêlure dans tout ce que nous pouvons rassembler : objets concrets, objets mentaux, n’importe quel type de construction. Mais c’est dans cette fêlure que se trouvent la résurrection et le retour. C’est là que se trouve le repentir. Dans la confrontation, dans la cassure des choses. »

La citation de Cohen pourrait être la devise de Strook. Cet artiste belge est surtout connu pour ses portraits. Ce sont des reliefs muraux en bois de récupération. Son matériau, il le trouve dans ce qu’il appelle des non-places : chantiers de construction, vieux immeubles abandonnés ou autres lieux désolés. Le bois qu’il récolte a souvent toute une vie derrière lui. Et cela laisse des traces.

C’est précisément ces cracks, ces fissures, que Strook recherche. Les couleurs altérées par le temps et les craquelures du matériau sont très importantes à ses yeux. Elles racontent les multiples épisodes d’une histoire de construction et de destruction, de passé et de futur, de lumière et d’obscurité.

Strook n’est pas un démolisseur. Il construit avec le temps. Et les fissures dans son œuvre définissent le temps, qui est insaisissable et qui passe irrémédiablement. Les fissures montrent comment les couches de peinture agissent sur le bois. Le temps est un sculpteur qui travaille avec les intempéries. Les craquelures sont importantes pour l’œuvre de Strook. Elles montrent la cassure dont parle Cohen. Strook ne manipule pas ces cracks, mais il les traite comme des ready-made.

Avec le bois qu’il récupère, Strook fait des compositions expressives. La plupart du temps des figures humaines plutôt abstraites. Leur attitude suggère leurs émotions, mais aussi les craquelures dans le bois. Celles-ci donnent à la sculpture une peau picturale et une charge émotionnelle.

La patine du matériau est l’empreinte esthétique du temps, dit Strook. Mais c’est aussi une trace de fugacité : une métaphore pour exprimer la façon dont tout change, s’étiole ou disparaît progressivement. Tant physiquement que mentalement. Le temps est sans appel. Il marque les gens, mais aussi les matériaux et les objets.

Le critique d’art allemand Jocks décrit le phénomène de manière saisissante selon Strook : « Rien n’arrête le temps. Telle une vague, il balaie tout sur son passage, ne laissant derrière lui que son empreinte. Le temps donne vie aux choses, puis les fait disparaître. Partout, il grave sa trace. Le temps n’est pas seulement un sculpteur, il est aussi un dessinateur. »